Selectmen Make Appointments To Boards And Committees

By Kristen Arute, Hingham Current Staff, September 5, 2020
Hingham Current News File

Arguably one of the most critical committees in town is the Advisory Committee ("AdCom"), which provides financial oversight on Town matters to taxpayers. Members are appointed by Town Moderator Michael Puzo. There are a total of 15 residents on AdCom, and they serve staggered terms.

On the Town website, AdCom is described as "a deliberative body chartered by the Town of Hingham General By-laws to consider all articles in any Town Meeting Warrant and to make recommendations on each article as it deems to be in the best interest of the Town." On Warrants for Town Meeting one can find a section after each Article with a record of AdCom's committee vote and its recommendations. AdCom is also responsible for "reviewing all requests for annual operating and capital appropriations" that are made in the budget.

This year there were three vacancies on AdCom, and they were filled by Kristen Dziergowski, Alan MacDonald and Tina Sherwood. Dziergowski is the Tax Director at Harvard Management. MacDonald served on the School Master Planning Committee in 2004 and as Chair of the School Building Committee in 2006. Sherwood was formerly Chair of the Fire Station Building Committee. She has served as a Trustee of the Library, and she also served on the Town Hall Facilities Committee.

The Selectmen also made some appointments of their own. They took votes to reappoint the following people to the respective boards and committees they are currently serving on:

Diane Morrison - Beautification Commission (3-year term)

Tricia Byrnes and Patti Coyle - Cultural Council (3-year term)

Brian Tomasello and Kevin O'Brien - Development & Industrial Committee (5-year term)

Jennifer Murphy and Linda Hill - Foster School Building Committee (3-year term)

Carol Pyles - Historic Districts Commission (3-year term)

Tracy Shiver - Historic Districts Commission (3-year term)

Greg Doble - Lincoln Apartment Board of Managers (3-year term)

Benjamin Burnham and Vcevy Strekalovsky - Preservation Award Evaluation Committee (3-year term)

Kristen Arute can be reached at kristen@hinghamcurrent.com.